Ekadashi 2018 Calendar, Ekadashi 2018 Dates

Ekadashi 2018 Calendar, Ekadashi 2018 Dates

Goddess Ekadashi is the Yoga Maya of Lord Vishnu. Ekadashi fasting is observed by staunch devotees of Sri Hari Vishnu on every 11th Tithi as per Hindu calendar. Ekadashi occurs twice in a month, one during Shukla Paksha and another during Krishna Paksha. Lord Vishnu devotees observe Ekadashi fasting to worship Sri Vishnu and to get his blessings.

On the day before Ekadashi, a meal is taken in the afternoon and do not eat at the time of dinner as a strict fast and then fast for the whole Ekadashi day and then break the fast on next day only after sunrise on the dwadashi day. All type of grains and cereals are prohibited to be eaten on the Ekadashi day. Those who fast as well as those who don't fast strictly must not eat rice and rice grain products on the day of Ekadashi. Strict Ekadashi fasting must be observed by people who are completely fit as this fast would be without water. Those who just can't observe the ekadashi fast as a strict can have water, fruits, tea, cofee but not any proper food that you eat daily. Before starting the Ekadasi fast, people must be sure about if they want to observe strict fast without water or otherwise.

2018 Ekadashi fasting days

Here we have mentioned 2018 Ekadashi fasting days and dates for Smarthas. Vaishnavas must check Vaishnava Ekadashi Calendar 2018 fasting to know Vaishnava fasting days. It is the same as released by ISCKON.Vaishnava fasting day might occur after one day after of Smartha fasting day.

Ekadashi Name Ekadashi Date Ekadashi Day
Shattila Ekadashi 12 January (Friday)
Jaya Ekadashi 27 January (Saturday)
Gauna Jaya Ekadashi 28 January (Sunday)
Vaishnava Jaya Ekadashi
Vijaya Ekadashi 11 February (Sunday)
Amalaki Ekadashi 26 February (Monday)
Papmochani Ekadashi 13 March (Tuesday)
Kamada Ekadashi 27 March (Tuesday)
Varuthini Ekadashi 12 April (Thursday)
Mohini Ekadashi 26 April (Thursday)
Apara Ekadashi 11 May (Friday)
Padmini Ekadashi 25 May (Friday)
Parama Ekadashi 10 June (Sunday)
Nirjala Ekadashi 23 June (Saturday)
Yogini Ekadashi 9 July (Monday)
Devshayani Ekadashi 23 July (Monday)
Kamika Ekadashi 7 August (Tuesday)
Gauna Kamika Ekadashi 8 August (Wednesday)
Vaishnava Kamika Ekadashi
Shravana Putrada Ekadashi 22 August (Wednesday)
Aja Ekadashi 6 September (Thursday)
Parsva Ekadashi 20 September (Thursday)
Indira Ekadashi 5 October (Friday)
Papankusha Ekadashi 20 October (Saturday)
Rama Ekadashi 3 November (Saturday)
Vaishnava Rama Ekadashi 4 November (Sunday)
Devutthana Ekadashi 19 November (Monday)
Utpanna Ekadashi 3 December (Monday)
Mokshada Ekadashi 18 December (Tuesday)
Gauna Mokshada Ekadashi 19 December (Wednesday)
Vaishnava Mokshada Ekadashi

Ekadashi fasting sometimes occurs on two consecutive days. It is advisable that Smartha with family should observe Ekadashi fasting on the first day only. For Sanyasis, widows and for those who want Moksha are advised to observe the Ekadashi vrat on the second day. When alternate Ekadashi fasting is advised for Smartha it coincides with Vaishnava Ekadashi fasting day.

Ekadashi fasting for both- the shukla paksh and krishna paksh is suggested for staunch devotees who just want love and affection of Sri Vishnu and Mata Lakshmi.